International Partner

Faculty of Science and Ibnu Sina Institute for Fundamentals Science
have signed a MoU with Osaka University

mou_osaka (2).jpg

On 20 November 2008 Dean of Faculty of Science, Prof. Dr. Samsudi Sakrani and Director of Ibnu Sina Institute for Fundamental Science Studies, Prof. Dr. Mohd Marsin Sanagi, and their counterpart in Osaka University, Prof. Dr. Yoshito Tobe, Dean of Graduate School of Science and Prof. Dr. Kazunari Ohgaki, Director of Research Centre for Solar Energy Chemistry (RCSEC), signed a Memorandum of Understanding on research and student exchange in Toyonaka campus, Osaka, Japan.

This follows a visit by Prof. Dr. Michio Matsumura (in 2006 and 2008) and Prof. Dr. Shigeru Ikeda (in 2004 and 2007) from RCSEC, Osaka University as visiting professors at UTM. In 2007, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Hadi Nur of Ibnu Sina Institute for Fundamental Science Studies, UTM was invited to Osaka University as a visiting researcher. The three researchers had expressed a desire to see their two universities forging stronger bilateral cooperation especially in student and staff exchanges as well as scientific research.

The MOU will facilitate the establishment of concrete mutual relationships by the respective science community in the creation of new knowledge and research networks, and the transfer of relevant technologies to strengthen the respective universities’ development. 

Closer collaboration is envisaged in the fields of advanced material, solar energy chemistry and photocatalysis. Graduate School of Engineering Science and RCSEC, Osaka University has the necessary capacity to assist Faculty of Science and Ibnu Sina Institute for Fundamental Science Studies in building expertise in these areas. They have well established laboratories working on these fields in Osaka University. 

Osaka University is recognized as a leading university, especially in basic sciences and medical field. Academically, Osaka University is consistently ranked in the world's top 50 universities by THES-QS ranking. This university was ranked 3rd amongst Japanese universities, right behind Tokyo University and Kyoto University.  Currently, Osaka University has 867 full professors, 955 associate professors, and 1,005 lecturers which are distributed in 16 faculties, 1 hospital and 1 dental hospital. In 2007, the university has received an endowment of $2.3 billion from Japanese government and private sector. 

The UTM’s delegation consist of Prof. Dr. Samsudi, Sakrani, Prof. Dr. Mohd Marsin, Sanagi, Prof. Dr. Mustaffa Shamsuddin and Assoc. Prof. Dr. Hadi Nur also take opportunity to tour to some prominent Iaboratories in the field of single molecules, thin film, photocatalysis and solar energy chemistry at Osaka University. 

Article contributed by Assoc. Prof. Dr. Hadi Nur
26 November 2008


UTM-NANOTEC Thailand MoU Signing Ceremony



BANGKOK Thailand, 23 December 2009. A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) was signed between Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) and National Nanotechnology Center of Thailand (NANOTEC). This signing ceremony took place at the Convention Center, Thailand Science Park, Thailand. UTM was represented by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic & International), Professor Ir. Dr. Mohd Azraai Kassim and witnessed by the Dean Faculty of Science, Professor Dr. Madzlan Aziz, and accompanied by the Director of Ibnu Sina Institute for Fundamental Science Studies (IIS), Professor Dr. Mohd Marsin Sanagi, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Zulkafli Othaman, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ali Hassan Mohd Murid and Assoc. Prof. Dr. Sugeng Triwahyono. NANOTEC was represented by its Executive Director, Professor Dr. Sirirurg Songsivilai and winessed by Assistant Executive Director, Ms. Euaporn Ratnabhanu.

Also present to witness the MoU signing ceremon were Assoc. Prof. Dr Sakarindr Bhumiratana, President of the National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA), officers and researchers from NANOTEC. The MoU was to foster stronger bilateral cooperation between UTM and NANOTEC in nanotechnology research and innovation following the first visit to NANOTEC in September 2008 by the Dean, Faculty of Science, the Director of IIS, and Chairman of Physics Program, IIS. 




In his congratulatory speech Professor Azraai highlighted the importance of nanotechnology and precision engineering as one of the focus areas since the Eighth Malaysia Plan (RMK8) from 2001 to 2005 during which IIS was formed as one of the Centers of Excellence in UTM. He also acknowledged the importance of sharing of knowledge and experiences in nanotechnology between UTM and NANOTEC through this MoU. Besides promoting academic and research exchanges, this MoU would also help to encourage social exchanges and interactions, building friendship at the staff and student levels via scientific seminars and workshops.

During this ceremony Professor Madzlan presented information regarding the Faculty of Science. This was then followed by a presentation about IIS, its facilities and research activities by Professor Mohd Marsin, Dr. Zulkafli and Dr. Ali Hassan. After the signing ceremony, the UTM delegates were then taken to visit NANOTEC R&D laboratories which housed some outstanding research works and facilities especially in the area of nanotechnology.
Click HERE to view images.